The charity walk TEC aims to support the human rights organization Target. In my opinion the foundation for a healthy life is based in one’s childhood and formative years. A child, who is growing up in an environment, which violates the human rights, accepts this as the norm.


TARGET is a human rights organization founded in 2000 by Rüdiger Nehberg. Its main purpose is specific, in-situ action against Female Genital Mutilation (FGM).


Around 150 million girls and women worldwide are affected by female genital mutilation. Each year there are an estimated three million further cases. That means 8,000 new victims per day. (UNICEF)


According to the definition of the WHO (World Health Organization), Female Genital Mutilation comprises all procedures involving partial or even total removal of the external female genitalia, whether for cultural, religious or other reasons.


The acronym 'FGM' stands for Female Genital Mutilation. FGM has become the internationally accepted term for this practice. Depending on regional tradition, infants, girls of every age or (less often) adult women become victims of FGM.

How does Target work

Since the justification for Female Genital Mutilation is given, incorrectly, by reference to holy texts and religious duty and the majority of victims are Muslim girls and women, we believe our best chance to end this bloody custom can be found in the strength of Islam itself. TARGET’s “Pro-Islamic Alliance against Female Genital Mutilation” aims to set out clearly that the custom, wherever practiced, is incompatible with the Qur’an and with the ethics of Islam, discriminates against Islam, amounts to presumption in God’s name and is a sin.

Types of FGM

WHO distinguishes four types of Female Genital Mutilation:


Type I:

Excision of the prepuce, with or without excision of a part of the clitoris or the entire clitoris.


Type II:

Removal of the clitoris with partial or total excision of the labia minora (the inner labia).


Type III:

Excision of a part or of all the external genitalia as well as stitching or otherwise narrowing the vaginal opening - the so-called infibulation.


Type IV:

All FGM practices that are not listed under Types I-III, including those not mentioned here. Among these practices are: pricking, piercing or stretching of the clitoris and/or labia, burning of the clitoris and surrounding tissue; the scraping of tissue surrounding the vaginal orifice or cutting of the vagina; the introduction of corrosive substances or herbs into the vagina, either to cause bleeding or to tighten it.